Amica Insurance Reviews

Show reviews that mention
amica insurance customer claim customer service service policy home auto car
Filter review
Most helpful review

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Poor Customer Service

Have called twice to find out why the statement of savings on my car insurance shows a decrease and there seems to be no rush to provide a response. This should be boilerplate information that is readily available. If you raised my rates by $22/half year you must know why, yet it has taken weeks without the courtesy of a reply. Shame on AMICA. Maybe it is time to bid out my insurance needs to a more concerned and responsive company.
View full review
ID
#2344142 Review #2344142 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Preferred solution
Have company's initial response reviewed by someone responsible and capable of an intelligent response.
For over 25 years, I have been a satisfied customer of Amica Mutual Insurance...until now! I have two issues: 1) My daughter was involved in a MVA (auto/cyclist) 2 years ago. I tried to light a fire under Amica's representatives, but they were moving at their own pace....
View full review
View full review
ID
#3004337 Review #3004337 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Marlton, New Jersey
New Reviewer

AUTO ACCIDENT

THEIR CLIENT WAS TEACHING A UNDERAGE DRIVER WITH NO LICENSE AND NO PERMIT HOW TO DRIVE IN A BUSY SHOPPING CENTER AND WRECKED OUR TRUCK WHILE MY HUSBAND WAS IN HIS PLACE OF EMPLOYMENT WORKING-LOW BALLING AND THE ADJUSTED ADMITTED WORKING FOR THEM EVEN THOUGH HE WAS SUPPOSED TO BE AN INDEPENDENT

User's recommendation: STAY AWAY.

View full review
ID
#2533637 Review #2533637 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
ANSWERS

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer
We have been with Amica for a long time and they have generally been pretty good on any claims we have had. But this last billing cycle, we received a letter stating "you have not received the best possible insurance rate because we see there have been inquiries into...
View full review
View full review
ID
#2439426 Review #2439426 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Pueblo, Colorado

Daughter call for me 3 days

daughter calle d for me 3 days ago-- left message to call still waiting -- with 37 family accts i belive uits time to cancel all accts. used to be a very efficint company-your people need to be retrainde
View full review
ID
#2417096 Review #2417096 is a subjective opinion of poster.

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Horrible Experience!

Update by user Feb 27, 2021

The situation with Amica has improved, but not to the point where I feel comfortable going forward. Thus, I'm evaluating 2 other providers who appear promising. Though I'm being cautious before committing so to avoid a repeat experience.

Original review posted by user Jan 28, 2021
First, I have excellent credit, have never had an insurance claim against Amica, and have never been late in my payments to Amica since joining them in Jun 2017! However, in return, Amica decided in Nov. 2020 to make my life a living *** by not informing me of a change in my monthly charge and then again by changing my Home insurance account from a non-escrow account to an escrow account and then (until now) provide erroneous/conflicting billing information for the past 6+ weeks, including inexplicable anonymous request for extraneous funds! Do your sanity and family sanctity a favor and avoid the Amica plague at all cost! The good news - there is a cure! And that cure is - any other insurance carrier!

User's recommendation: Look elsewhere! Anywhere!

View full review
ID
#2398502 Review #2398502 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Albany, Oregon

Home Insurance cancellation

The reason for cancellation is just cheaper home insurance Amica was a very good insurance company. We never had a problem at all, I didn’t realized I used this website to call and cancel Amica insurance. Please forgive me. Mr. and Mrs. Elton Martin Junior
View full review
ID
#1701723 Review #1701723 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Farmington, Michigan
New Reviewer

Windshield Replacement

Worst company for following up with customers. Windshield replacement since FEBRUARY 2019, called multiple times to find out about glass backorder, no one knows anything about it, just that it is backorder. In the meantime changed to Glass America who said has glass....BIG MISTAKE! Don't follow up with me regarding appointment. So SEPTEMBER 2019 no glass in sight. AMICA supervisor said, if you don't follow up then they give YOUR ORDERED glass to someone else!!
View full review
ID
#1657343 Review #1657343 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Cons
  • Withheld information regarding claim
  • Amica doesnt seem to be looking out for their insured
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Replace windshield
New Reviewer

Friendly, but Poor Communication Can Lead to Major Problems

Every step of the way I encountered misinformation and confusion. I don't think it was intentional - I think their reps are trying to be as helpful and friendly as possible, but sometimes that leads to vague or misleading answers that don't accurately represent what their underwriters are saying. Twice their misinformation led to major problems, once during close (that almost led to losing the house) and once during the completion of required work, that led me to have to cancel and move my policy to a different company. I regret wasting my time with them and recommend looking past the lower prices, since in this case you absolutely get what you pay for.
View full review
1 comment
#1780744

same here!

ID
#1637400 Review #1637400 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Reason of review
Deceptive communication practices
New Reviewer

Unpaid accident claim

They finally are gonna pay my claim, but only covered for damages. I wanted $5000 but they only paid $1300 in small claims court. Hope Amica has more lawsuits in the future
View full review
2 comments
#1891674

It would seem that the writer had an unreasonable demand, sued and was awarded what he was legally owed. That is how the court system works. Now, he throws a fit

#1792604

Not much information here...

View more comments (1)
ID
#1564001 Review #1564001 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Atlanta, Georgia
Service
Amica Insurance Auto Insurance
Cons
  • Seem to be looking for reason to not pay the claim
Reason of review
Problems with payment
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund

Thanks for the warning!

Saved me a lot of trouble folks -- thanks for the effort to post your experiences!!!
View full review
ID
#1456167 Review #1456167 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Worth, Texas
Service
Amica Insurance Customer Care
New Reviewer

Has been a very frustrating and disappointing experience

Update by user Feb 14, 2019

The review of Amica was the first I've given for a service or product. And I'm open minded enough to say that the experience I've had may not necessarily reflect that of others.

Which I hope is the case.I filed a pretty straightforward renter's insurance property claim in Dec 2018....Its now the middle of Feb 2019 and it still hasn't been resolved.At this point I have provided a recorded interview at my home, as well as submitted to a 3-4 hour long Examination Under Oath with an attorney representing Amica. I provided a police report as well as photos and/or serial numbers of the items that were being claimed. I have provided any and all information Amica has asked of me. This was the first insurance claim I've made, so maybe it was due to being naive about insurance.

It took me a while to realize Amica was accusing me of some type of fraud. Other than because the claim was made on a new policy, I'm not really sure what their reasoning has been for what has gone on. That's been the closest to an explanation I've gotten from them.Communication from the claims adjuster was almost non-existent. The adjuster was intentionally putting me off and what little information that was provided to me was directly untruthful.

When I say that I mean the adjuster directly lied to me about what was going on with the claim. I have it in writing.Although I had such a hard time getting any information from anyone, I was contacted by 3 different people when it came time to notify me of the EUO requirement.It's not that I don't understand them needing to be thorough, or that I don't see how it would cause a second look being that the policy was new.....I do. I've cooperated and provided anything they've asked for.

Even the metadata for the photos of my property.It would be a little more understandable if it were involving some type of big inflated claim, but I think the total of my claim is approx $5,000.There was a whole house of property such as a computer/laptop, video game console, surround sound system, large flat screen tvs, a whole collection of collector glass. Anyway, after I wrote the original review, someone with Amica posted for me to contact them about the situation....I did, but never heard anything more from them.....

Original review posted by user Jan 05, 2019
I needed to file a claim just before Christmas. It was the first insurance claim I have ever made. I have been very cooperative with everything that's been requested. Amica has been extremely hard to get any information from. I called, as well as emailed several times in an attempt to find out what was needed from me, never getting any response. It took calling and making a complaint about no one contacting me to get a call from someone. And I knew no more after the call than I did before. It seemed the main reason for the call was to band aid the situation, not to provide any type of real information. Besides the initial claims acknowledgement, the only other communication has been to tell me that an Independent Adjuster was going to be coming to my house. Which they sent a form notifying me of the details after the appointment had already occurred. When the Independent Adjuster came, I was asked questions that had nothing to do with the situation for which the claim had been filed-Questions about my income, debt, criminal history, if I'd had any repossessions or foreclosure problems, and questions about my children. Even though I have a replacement value policy I was asked and expected to provide the age, date and place of purchase for each item. Even though there was no way for me to know that about a good portion of the items as they were purchased by my ex husband. When I wasn't answering the question fast enough I was in a very obvious way rushed to give an answer. If I didn't know the answer or wasn't sure I wanted to state that and not give an answer just because I was being rushed to spit something out. I am feeling at this point that the purpose in sending the Independent Adjuster was to perform more of an investigation, rather than to assist with taking care of the claim. No one will tell me anything about what's going on or how much longer it is going to take. It is really surprising just how disappointing the customer service/claims experience has been. Especially for a company that has had reviews for having good customer service and claims handling. At this point I just want to get this over with and go on. I hate that I'm having to look at it this way, but I'm just going to agree with whatever they say are going to cover and write off as a loss whatever they say they arent.
View full review
1 comment
#1625464

Hello. This is not the experience we want you to have, and we’d like to discuss your concerns with you.

Please email us at socialmedia@amica.com with your name, claim number and contact information and we’ll have a representative reach out to you directly. Thank you.

ID
#1441940 Review #1441940 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Service
Amica Insurance Claim
Pros
  • Original quote we received
Cons
  • Are not open about what is going on with claims
  • Amica doesnt seem to be looking out for their insured
  • Seem to be looking for reason to not pay the claim
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
At this point being able to replace any amount of my property would be extremely helpful
New Reviewer

FRAUDULENT COMPANY

I have been with Amica over ten years and without any accidents, they cancelled my insurance without a cancellation letter, sent my payment in with a personal check then they send me a company business check back, told me they were going to write me up a new policy waited well over two weeks no call no letter, bad company!!
View full review
1 comment
#1899305

They are crooks they were charging me $4000.00 to insure 3 older cars, liberty mutual charged me only $2150 for same exact coverage. Amica sucks.

ID
#1435766 Review #1435766 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
North Adams, Massachusetts
Service
Amica Insurance Customer Care
New Reviewer
Amica Insurance - Unpaid claim in auto accident
Update by user Jan 18, 2019

Lawsuit pending. Mr.

Sumrall claims I was negligent. Just how the *** can I be negligent sitting in traffic? Oh I’m sorry. An off duty firefighter should get the *** out the way for somebody who was too busy talking on his cellphone.

Also, don’t try to deny it. Can’t...

View full review
View full review
ID
#1428573 Review #1428573 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Lincoln, Rhode Island
Service
Amica Insurance Claim
Cons
  • Lack of follow-through and poor customer service
  • Unethical
  • Was not telling truth about company from start
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Loss
$5000
Preferred solution
Full refund
New Reviewer

Awful

If I could give zero stars, I would. We spoke with a representative [Michael Young] and he got us set up for a policy on a house we're planning to close on. We waited for confirmation on the policy, and waited, and waited. As the closing date approached, we received a call from him saying to give him a call back, no big deal. We did, no return call. Tried multiple times over the next four days. Nothing. Sent emails, called again. Find out through another call [again still can't get a hold of Michael] that they just need confirmation that we'll handle a small bit of left over mold [which our inspector said was not a problem] withing 30 days of closing. Sure thing! We'll handle that. Meanwhile, our loan officer is trying to get a hold of them as well to finalize details. Finally get a call TWO DAYS before closing to hear they will not be able to insure us. Thanks AMICA for making home buying so stressful! We'll be sure to let everyone know how "helpful" you are.
View full review
1 comment
#1863645

"If I could give zero stars, I would." Then why did you give it two stars?

ID
#1421725 Review #1421725 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Cleveland, Ohio
Service
Amica Insurance Customer Care
Pros
  • Original quote we received
Cons
  • Lack of follow-through and poor customer service
Reason of review
Poor customer service
Preferred solution
Let the company propose a solution
New Reviewer

Vandalism claim denied

Someone had turned my outside water on and placed the hose in a window well flooding my basement when I was working. So much water that the ground sunk in. Instead of paying my claim they hired an engineer to say that it had nothing to do with the fact that someone turned my hose on full and placed it in the window well but that my foundation was bad. Then they cancelled my homeowner's insurance because I had two claims within a 10 year period. So I cancelled my auto policy with them as well and am much happier with Farmers. This happened six years ago.
View full review
ID
#1380806 Review #1380806 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Hood River, Oregon
Service
Amica Insurance Homeowners Policy Claim
Reason of review
Poor customer service

Why Trust Reviews on PissedConsumer?

  • Professional auto and live moderation
  • 100% user-generated content
  • Equal opportunity and protection
  • Zero tolerance for fake reviews
  • Verified content

For more information read Blog article